the goal is to seek forgiveness and gain freedom…

let me go

Truth; the quality or state of being true

I wear my truths on my sleeve. Out of my heart they simply flow. From my lips they depart with ease. The simplicity of this easily, definable word can be astounding to some people. I can never understand why that is.

“If you tell the truth, you don’t have to remember anything”. Mark Twain

Bitter; angry, hurt, or resentful because of one’s bad experiences or a sense of unjust treatment

There comes a point in life when the stumbling blocks become treacherous to navigate around and discover that maybe it is time to redefine the situation, to see it for what it really is.

“Without our noticing, (it) eats away at our souls, until, one day, we are no longer able to free ourselves from the bitterness and it stays with us for the rest of our lives”.                                    Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

Forgiveness; the action or process of forgiving or being forgiven

No longer do I want to judge, condemn and convict the actions of another. The prisoner that it really frees is me.

“If anyone has caused grief, he has not so much grieved me as he has grieved all of you to some extent—not to put it too severely. The punishment inflicted on him by the majority is sufficient. Now instead, you ought to forgive and comfort him, so that he will not be overwhelmed by excessive sorrow. I urge you, therefore, to reaffirm your love for him”.   2 Corinthians 2:5-8 NIV

Acceptance; the action of consenting to receive or undertake something offered

Never do I have to like what I choose to accept, but God has granted me the serenity, courage and wisdom to know the difference of that which I cannot change.

“To be a Christian means to forgive the inexcusable because God has forgiven the inexcusable in you.”  CS Lewis

strong enough

8 thoughts on “the goal is to seek forgiveness and gain freedom…

  1. Acceptance is first. Find a way to accept that will never have a different past. That was the most difficult. But it will quiet the inner turmoil. Forgiveness is a gift you give yourself. This person does not deserve your forgiveness you choose to give it because nothing they could say or do would make things right. When you were able to forgive you set yourself free so you can move on.

    • Absolutely. I cannot undo the damage that has been done. It is irreversible. However, forever onward is my only choice and direction. I am not saying I am there yet, but at least I feel God putting soft, gentleness on my heart to ease the struggle. I am not pitching a tent to camp out in this for much longer. 😉

      • Good to hear, but I know from experience you can’t force or rush the healing process. It’s tiring. To yourself well 🙂

Leave a Reply

