people care and have paid attention…

Living with such intensity

Putting myself out there for all the world to see

Roads paved with mock~able beta men

Passively addressing leaving me to remember when

How I craved the sternness and power under Your control

The subtle consensual exchange as we began to grow

A glance over my shoulder not a single moment of regret

Carefully selected by You made me never to forget

Just sitting there approached from everywhere I turn

My head fully aware that my heart stings from the burn

Dance with this one and from that one accept another drink

Don’t get so close stop touching me please I am on the brink

They all feel so wrong knowing what they are after

I am not for them this feels like a cruel joke but I’ve yet to hear the laughter

Days are fading into night plans we made coming up fast

Distracting myself from disbelief that we were not to last

My thoughts interrupted by an inquisitive friend wanting simply just to know

“where’s your man” the quiet words whispered from my lips “He let me go”

Not knowing what to say he shook his head with charm

followed with an “I’m so sorry” and a gentle caress upon my arm

We had become iconic Daddy and me in our tiny little town

People taking comfort seeing us around

“You always looked so happy” more soothing words they say

“I thought we were” is all I reply “but here we are today”

Stop dwelling my head tells my heart

How can we heal and move on while we remain torn apart

I’ll get there when I’m ready to stop bathing in the sorrow

I know there has to be a joyful and brighter tomorrow

Life keeps on turning with the kindness of others who mean well

Continued reminders of what once was now only time will tell

You always seemingly knew what was for the best

This time a standing ovation putting us to rest

Now the silent promise to Yourself keep a safe distance so not to stumble

Severed and all alone assuring us not to crumble

No one seems to understand the ache I bear within

Desperately wanting to lunge me forward to begin anew once again

As Daddy already declared that time is all that can fill

The broken-hearted emptiness but for now time is standing still

kitty…XO

2 thoughts on “people care and have paid attention…

  1. I wish I could do more for you, be there for you, but this is all I can do. If just kissing your “ouchie” would make the pain go away and the tears stop, I would do it in a heartbeat. It can be tough being big, but it can be better too. It will be.

    I’ve had a Siamese before but am not really a cat person. That cat behaved more like a dog which may be why we got along. Her name was Samantha. Like her, you would be welcome as a kitty to crawl up on my chest as I lay on the bed, sit peering knowingly down into my eyes as I rubbed you behind your ears, under your chin and stroked your chest. I would love to hear and feel those deep rumbling purrs from you while your paws pushed up and down.contentedly into my chest telling me you were in a moment of contented calm before lying down and drifting off to a soothing sleep. That’s the way a kitty needs to be treated. You will be.

Leave a Reply

